ben4social

Canon Rebel, F-3.5, ISO 100, 1/80 SS

Club and organizational photos are very similar to senior portraits. They are a type of environmental portrait, meaning the surroundings are important to the personal statement of the portrait. For these portraits of my son, who is in Future Farmers of America, I wanted to pose him in a farm setting. Fortunately, we live on a farm and we were able to take the photos literally in the backyard.

ben5social

Canon Rebel, ISO 100, F-4.5, 1/60 SS

As with any outdoor portrait, natural lighting is one of the most important things. It was sunny when these were taken, so we had to look for areas that were shaded, like the barn door.

ben1social

Canon Rebel, ISO 100, F-5.6, 1/25 SS

Hey guys like flowers too. As long as they aren’t too girly. Daisies over the fence serve the purpose nicely.

ben3social

Canon Rebel, ISO 100, F 3.5, 1/80 SS

Props are essential to environmental portraits. In the case of FFA photos-tractors, horses, cattle, hogs, etc. My son chose the tractor. I like the way the orange tractor crosses the color wheel with the navy blue FFA jacket. Once again, shade is preferable, especially if the props are shiny and can reflect sunlight back at the camera. I have included the setting data for each photo. I hope this is helpful to some.

You will notice that the ISO is always 100. That is the lowest ISO that my camera will shoot. The lower the ISO, the better quality your photos will be. The downside of shooting at a low ISO is that it takes more time and exposure to get a good shot. I always attempt to shoot at 100 ISO, but sometimes conditions limit that ability. If you have any questions, please let me know.

Keep shooting your children. LOL

