As promised, I have been playing with some of my smartphone and Ipad apps to create wall art. For this post, I started with this photo:
image

I had this saved on my smartphone from back in the fall. I simply opened it in my Kaleidoscope app (free from Google Play) and shot several different angles after turning my phone in different directions. I ended up with these four pictures:
image

image

image

image

I then sent these four pictures to my Ipad and performed some rotating, cropping and sharpening to each one in Photoshop Express (free in the App Store). I applied a different special effect to each one of them to make them look different. Here are the results of that series of manipulations:

IMG_0636-0

IMG_0638-0

IMG_0639-0

IMG_0637-0

Each of these would be excellent wall art if not printed out too large. They are the products of smartphone photography and quality begins to suffer if blown up too large. They should work nicely if printed under 5″x5″.
I decided to do one last series of manipulations to these in another IPad app called A Beautiful Mess ($1.99 in the App Store). This app allows you to make collages, diptychs and triptychs from photos you have in your camera roll or take new ones. I made a simple collage from all four:

IMG_0640-0

And a triptych from three:

IMG_0641-0

All of these apps are fun to play with and that is what I really want when I look at wall art- a reminder of past fun 🙂

 

