If you follow this blog at all, you know that I am craazzy about high dynamic range photography. So it is only fitting that I include HDR photos in my series about using photos as dramatic wall art. I am going to show a series of before and after photos that illustrate why I love HDR so much. Each of the before pictures were taken recently locally of scenes that are much prettier in the spring. Each of them is pretty bland. However, since you have the option of manipulating one, two or three photos in Photomatix, I opened the single image and let Photomatix do its magic.

See for yourself:

IMG_7452

Before

IMG_7452_tonemapped

After

Wow, right!

IMG_7459

Before

IMG_7459_tonemapped

After

Beautiful clouds!

IMG_7454

Before

IMG_7454_tonemapped

After

Stunning!

IMG_7458

Before

IMG_7458_tonemapped

After

Pretty good, huh? Now without any further manipulation, these images are wall worthy. If you are a photographer who likes to push the limits of creativity, you may want to check out Photomatix.

Next up, watercolor collage 🙂

