IMG_3777_8_9_tonemapped

Why is it that every time you see an HDR photo, it’s always a landscape? For a Christmas exhibit I participated in this month, I decided to try HDR photography on close-up stills.

IMG_3807_8_9_tonemapped

It worked great! I simply set up the stills, mounted my camera on a tripod, screwed on my Promaster close-up filter set and plugged in my remote shutter release.

IMG_3695_6_7_fused

I set my Canon on auto exposure bracketing (AEB) in order to get the three shots I needed for HDR processing. Since I had the ISO set at 100 for maximum quality and the camera set on AV at 5.6, the shutter speed was pretty slow.

IMG_3904_5_6_tonemapped

I used a light box for most of the shots with filtered light illuminating the entire box. For the shot above, though, I laid the lights on a reflective surface and had no other light. The shutter was very slow for this one. Turned out good though.

IMG_3647_8_9_tonemapped

The three shots were then processed in my trusty Photomatix program and cropped in Photoshop Elements 12.

HDR photography does make great landscapes, but that’s only the surface. My next project, HDR portraits.

