OK. What’s rule number one for being a great photographer (or a boy scout)? Be prepared, right?
Last week, I set off to Reed Valley apple orchard for some of the best organically grown fruit you will find in the state of Kentucky. I also planned to take some pictures while I picked.
I had my bags for the apples and pears. I had my camera with the appropriate 18-270 lens for any type of situation. We have had a lot of rain here and the apples were gorgeous. They happily posed for me and I prepared to take a whole series of photos, perhaps to blow up and decorate my kitchen. As I attempted to focus on the first clump of chubby apples, my camera wouldn’t budge. I looked at the display, which said LOW BATTERY. Really!
I said a word I shouldn’t have and blamed the camera, but it was my fault. I have a spare battery, but it was at home in my enormous camera bag that I was too lazy to bring.
Smart phone to the rescue! I was determined to get pictures, so I pulled out my Motorola Atrix and starting shooting.

image

Smart phones are equipped with pretty high resolution cameras these days. One thing to avoid, however, is using the camera zoom, which can really eat at the quality of the shot. For these shots, I got as close as I could and then cropped a little more off the edges.

image

I have an app called Pixlr Express that I use for photo editing. All of these photos were edited using the vintage Borg effect and then I applied a clean vignette.

image

I think they turned out rather well considering. However, the resolution is probably too low for me to blow them up like I had planned.

image

I will have to make another trip later in the season, and this time be prepared.
Lesson learned 🙂

