In order to save some money, I have been making backdrops. Backdrops can be abstract paintings. Really the only criteria are that there should be a hotspot (a space that is lighter or darker than the rest of the painting) and any design should lead the eye to the subject.

IMG_1752For one of my backdrops, I used a large blank canvas that I have had lying around for some time, and some of the paint samples from Lowes that I got for free with magazine coupons.

 

I painted the canvas with an off white paint all over. Then I drew the main design on the white base.

IMG_1759For the abstract effect, I used several of the other complimentary colors and  applied them with different brushstrokes.

IMG_1762Lastly, I added the contrasting color for the design.

IMG_1763

The hotspots are the yellow-green spaces. Note how the red lines lead to those areas.

IMG_1837

The resulting painting can be moved to wherever you want to use it. All you need is a couple of nails. I hung it outside to use outdoor shade lighting for my portrait of my son.

IMG_1836

