IMG_3284

In an earlier post, I told how to achieve an abstract blur using slow shutter speed. This post I entitled impressionist blur because these examples remind me of a Monet painting.
I achieve the look above, I simply turned off my auto focus, set my camera on aperture priority (AV) at F-18, intentionally made everything out of focus and took the picture.

IMG_3288

For this shot, I wanted a slow shutter speed, so on manual setting (M), I turned the ISO to 100 and the F- stop to 22. These two factors caused the shutter to require a long opening to take the picture. I mounted the camera on a tripod and focused out as far as possible using manual focus. After I pressed the shutter release, I immediately turned the focal ring while the shutter was opened.
It makes it appear as if the flowers are moving away from you backwards.

