image

One of the great things about living on a farm is you don’t have to fake rustic backdrops. The one above was created against our new outbuilding using the door from the building that was removed to build the new building. The large rock was already in place and I slid the salvaged door behind the rock and covered the window opening with an old burlap sack. I placed an old fuel oil stove next to the door and added some greenery. The rock serves as a seat for the subject(s). I zoom in and voila, no idea this is not in front of an old building.

 

image

With a little creative placement of objects, you have great places to shoot children. I have photographed many children (especially my own) in this wagon. The hostas make a great background. For added effect, an old quilt can be added to the wagon (I usually line the wagon with a piece of plastic so rust doesn’t get on the quilt). This is a fabulous place to photograph an infant or small child. Make sure you get down on the wagon’s level for the shot.

 

image

This stump under a tree, next to a woodpile is a good place to shoot down on a subject. This works well for adults who are sensitive about lower body image. By shooting down on the subject, you minimize the lower body. They  will look great with the woods in the background.
image

I have used this boat before propped against the barn. I plan to think of other ways to use it by itself.
image

The barn itself has a nice weather-beaten look and the landscape timbers provide a perfect place to sit.
image

My husband brought home this heart he savaged from a junk pile. It is great for pictures of kids or couples. It can be moved to wherever I want.
image

It looks pretty in the coneflower bed by itself. I can’t wait to try it with a subject. 🙂

