You know the photography mantra, if you use a long shutter speed, you should mount your camera on a tripod so that the picture is not blurred.

Well, what if you want the image blurred? What if you want to create a spinning or falling effect. Simple, use a long shutter speed and move your camera.

IMG_2690

In order to produce this swirl, I set my camera to manual (M) setting. I decided that I needed to leave the shutter open for 1 second in order to give me time to spin my camera. Because the slow shutter speed let in so much light, I turned the ISO to 100 and relied on the internal light meter to tell me what F-stop I would need. I ended up using F18 (it really doesn’t matter since, technically, none of the shot is in focus).

IMG_2692

Then I began taking photos by pushing on the shutter release and immediately spinning the camera to the left or right.

IMG_2697

As you can see, the focal point of the shot ends up being the center of the spin. I tried to play up on that by putting the focal point in the very center of the shot and spinning around it. For the sake of rule of thirds composition, I then cropped the image slightly on the top and right in Photoshop.

IMG_2701

I was especially proud of this one.

IMG_2693

Next, I moved my camera up to produce a falling flower effect.

I plan to try some more movement shots with objects other than flowers. I’ll keep you posted 🙂

