I have to admit, as a primarily landscape and architectural photographer, I have always been a little lens shy with my telephoto.  I started out as a film photographer many years ago and telephoto lenses tended to produce grainy, unflattering images. My husband got a telephoto for my digital camera for me as a gift a couple of years ago and I carry it with me everywhere, but never seem to find the appropriate situation to put it on my camera.

One day while sitting on my porch swing, I noticed a blue jay that kept leaving and coming back to the same post. I decided to fetch my camera and zoom lens and return to the swing to see what I could see.

Wow! Why hadn’t I used this thing more often. In addition to moving you closer to the subject, the telephoto gives the subject a nice frame of blurred background and blurs things in the foreground so they are not noticable. These are all things that I already knew about telephoto lenses, but as I said earlier, I had avoided using them with film.

When you turn the Fstop up very high, the lens produced a different look. I read about the effect. It is called stacking and it occurs when your photo has several layers of subjects. It makes it look as if the buildings on a vast hillside are right on top of one another, almost like a diorama.

These were all shot on my Canon Rebel with a Tamron 70-300 mm lens.

Old dogs apparently can learn new tricks after all.

Have fun with your camera (all the parts) 🙂

