A couple of years ago, my family and I went to Washington D.C. and I was moved by the monuments that have been crafted to honor those who have served in the military. I was particularly touched by the Korean memorial. The live-sized statues appear to almost move carefully across the simulated mine field on which they are built. It is very haunting. The statues are so realistic, they look like ghosts.

Another poignant statue is the one at the beginning of the Vietnam memorial wall. The memorial itself is, of course, the wall engraved the the names of those who were killed during the years of the Vietnam conflict. Sometimes visitors who want to look for a specific name on the wall overlook the statue of the three young men at the entrance.

I had not visited Washington since I was a child. At that time, I was more interested in the Smithsonian than seeing “all those statues.” I’m glad I was able to return and see things from an adult perspective. I have a heart-felt gratitude for those who serve in the military so that I can be free to take pictures of what I want and write a blog, etc.

Thank you service men and women and

Happy Birthday, America 🙂

