Sometimes the most unique opportunities for photos have been in plain view for a long time. Both of these photos were taken very close to my home and I have looked at them many times.

After several shots, I decided that the shot of the post in the foreground looked the best. It presented a very spooky effect. It almost seems as if a tree creature popped up at the last minute while I was shooting the forest.

The other picture is of a root that has been protruding from the ground for many years. I never really looked at it until one day and realized that it looks like a gnarly-faced old man.

Both photos were taken with a Canon Rebel, set at 400 ISO, 5.6 on AV, RAW setting. I usually set the white balance on cloudy, because I like the effect that setting produces.

Have fun with your camera 🙂

L.H.

